Exquisite Stitch – Fri 20th Oct 2023

Published by

on

The flyer image is “Cadavre exquis” by Andre Breton, Jacqueline Lamba and Yves Tanguy. Exquisite Corpse was a favourite surrealist game from the mid-1920s onwards. It usually involved three or more  participants who added to a drawing, collage or sentence, without seeing what the others had already done. I’ve deployed this idea for a collaborative mix – Exquisite Stitch – to celebrate my 100th Crazy Stitch show on Repeater Radio, which is on this Friday 20th October 2023.

Back in 2020 (around the time of lockdown) Mr Jonny Mumpwump got in touch asking me to contribute to his The Neon Hospice radio station. For me, it was a perfect lockdown project, it got me listening more closely to new music again and i got the taste for keeping it going once things opened up. A year later this became Repeater Radio, aligned to the awesome Repeater Books operation. And now, through the (mainly) weekly shows, I’ve reached the centenary milestone – lifts bat, brap to me!

When planning this special show, I originally thought that it could work chronologically, with each contributor receiving the last 30 seconds of the previous person and taking it from there. Thankfully, seeing some logistical sense, I instead sent out ‘joining tracks’ with everyone receiving before and after tracks between which their own mix/sound piece should navigate (in whatever terms they saw fit).

I put out a call to get contributors to artists, friends, DJs, musicians, collectors, broadcasters, record label heads etc – and I’ve been genuinely surprised at how many said ‘yes’ – so it will be an especially XXL-sized show on Friday. In all 27 guest mixes that I will splice together live on the night with the join tracks.

So join me from 5pm Friday on Repeater Radio as I stitch the bastard corpse!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started